Welcome to the diocese of Kiyinda-Mityana! Find on this website information about the history of the diocese, its bishop, the main functions in the diocese, diocesan statistics, religious communities of men and women with their respective addresses, other institutions including seminaries, catechetical centre, hospitals and health centres, parishes, centres with resident priests, diocesan and relgious priests with their dates of ordination


The   Diocese of Kiyinda – Mityana is found in Kampala Ecclesiastical Province. It covers an area of 11,965sq Kms.

The Diocese comprises of the civil Districts of Mubende, Mityana, Kiboga, Kyankwanzi, and Gomba.  The Diocese was originally part of Kampala Archdiocese.  It was erected on 17th July 1981, promulgated on 21st August 1981 and solemnly inaugurated on 22nd November 1981. The first Bishop was Bishop Emmanuel Wamala, now His Eminence Emmanuel Cardinal Wamala who was consecrated a Bishop on the same day of the inauguration of the Diocese.

On 10th September 1988, Bishop Wamala was appointed Coadjutor Archbishop of the Archdiocese of Kampala and was succeeded by Bishop Joseph Mukwaya who had been Auxiliary Bishop of Kampala Archdiocese. Bishop Mukwaya took canonical possession of the Diocese of Kiyinda-Mityana on 8th October 1988 becoming the second Bishop Ordinary of Kiyinda-Mityana.  Bishop Mukwaya received a Co-Adjutor Bishop, Msgr. Joseph Antony Zziwa who was consecrated Bishop on 16th March 2002. His Holiness Pope John Paul II allowed Bishop Mukwaya to retire from the responsibilities of Local See Ordinary, and appointed Bishop Zziwa as Ordinary of the Diocese of Kiyinda-Mityana on 23rd October 2004.


Rt. Rev. Joseph Antony Zziwa was born on 16th February 1956 at Kasambya village, Mubende Parish in the Diocese of Kiyinda-Mityana. He was ordained a priest on 16th November 1980 for the Archdiocese of Kampala. He was appointed Co-Adjutor Bishop of Kiyinda-Mityana Diocese on 18th December 2001, and consecrated a Bishop on 16th March 2002. He was appointed Bishop of Kiyinda-Mityana on 23rd October 2004, and ceremoniously enthroned on 21st November 2004, becoming the third Bishop of Kiyinda-Mityana Diocese.


PHONE:     (256) 0464442175  
0772586784 (Chancery);
0774314933 (Treasury)
0772344743 (Pastoral);
0702535555 (SSD/Caritas);
EMAIL:    kmd(at)






Religious Institutions

Health Units


Hits: 7108

Quick Contact

Please, enter your name
Please, enter your phone number
Please, enter your e-mail address Mail address is not not valid
Please, enter your message